Initial Teacher Training

Home/Our Offer/Initial Teacher Training

We know that consistent high quality teaching leads to successful outcomes for children.  We are proud of our long standing relationship with Kent and Medway Training and the excellent  provision it offers to those embarking on a career in teaching.

KMT offer a number of routes to enter the profession and gain Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) 

School Direct

Most trainees follow one of the School Direct routes to QTS.

The School Direct (tuition fee) programme allows you to learn on the job as your training is based in a KMT partner school that will support you as you work towards QTS.

The Salaries Programme is an employment- based route for graduates, typically with some experience of transferable work history. You’ll earn a salary while you train towards your QTS, you wont need to pay any tuition fees.


KMT can provide trainees with the opportunity to gain level 7 PGCE ( Post Graduate Certificate in Education) qualification. This is a distance learning PGCE, completed online and delivered and assessed by Leeds Beckett University.

Entry Requirements

The following are the qualifications you will  need in order to enroll on the Initial Teacher Training

  • O’ Level/GCSE A-C pass grade/new grade Level 4 – 9 in English & Mathematics (and Science for Primary applicants). 
  • A degree classification of 2:2 or better is required however, KMT will consider 3rd Class degrees when supported by other strengths and circumstances. For Secondary courses this ideally needs to be in an area relevant to the subject in which you will be training. See note 2 below.
  • Other qualifications and personal experiences of working with young people, strengthen all applications considerably.

How to apply

Process support and guidance
Apply for Teacher Training